More Cherry Blossom Fest, 2011-2012 | Festivals

I am not a big city girl. I grew up in a small town that had one stop light, my graduating class was roughly 76 people if my memory serves me right, and our little festivals involved “cow plops”ย  and were considered big time fun. Joining the Army allowed me to move around and live in bigger cities, which is something I always thought I wanted. But now that I have, I realized that I really miss the small towns (not mine), but in general. As much as I grumble that traffic along Highway 95 is worse than forking myself in the face, living here does have its advantages. One of those such things is the Cherry Blossom Festival that DC hosts annually.

In 1912, Mayor Ozaki of Tokyo gave Washington, DC the gift of 3,000 cherry blossom trees. The annual celebration is to honor the friendship between the two countries. In 1965, 3,800 more trees were accepted and every spring the blooming of these trees is a sight to see. The entire Tidal Basin looks snow covered in pretty pink blossoms and it attracts everyone to come out and experience it.

When I went out there last week around sunset, all of the photographers were lined up along the basin’s edge with their tripods and remotes waiting for that perfect shot. Most people were out there with their iPhones (as I was, as you can see from the post I made showing some), and many out there with their point and shoots taking it all in.

I didn’t get many shots yet of this year, but I have a few from last year that I will post. Most of the flower shots though are from one of the museums I visited with fellow photographers from a meet up group I am a part of.

If you are ever around these parts during the end of March, beginning of April, I suggest youย  stop in the city. It is truly beautiful.

ImageImageImageImageImage

And a few from last year

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

248 thoughts on “More Cherry Blossom Fest, 2011-2012 | Festivals

    • Thank you! I got there just in time. Literally, the one of the sunset with the couple is the only one I got of the sun like that. The sun went behind some clouds after that and just kind of faded away. I forgot it was festival time and I wanted to go see the trees. When we got down there I saw ALL these cars and I had to park a mile away. And of course I walked slowly to the basin, so I will need to get down there soon since it is already after peak bloom. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  1. BREATHTAKING photos!

    DC is one of my favorite places in the whole world (well, based on parts of the world that I’ve visited, that is…). Yet I’ve never been there during the Festival.

    Perhaps that will change — next year!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you so much! You should try and make it down for the festival sometime. There is so much to do and it goes on for two weeks. I really wish I knew this post was going to be freshly pressed, I would have added more of the blossoms!

  2. Such beautiful pictures! I’m from Vancouver, Canada but will be moving to Toronto come fall. Definitely want to visit DC when I’m closer to the East Coast and hopefully catch the cherry blossom in bloom!

  3. How i long to see cherry blossom tree.. we don’t have it here..the only source that i got in order to see its beauty is through the internet photos. thank you for sharing.

  4. Wow, you’ve got quite and eye. Your photos are stunningly beautiful and the little girl in front to the White House is priceless. Thank you for sharing all this cherry blossom beauty!

    • Well thank you very much for your nice compliments. The little girl in front of the Capitol is my eldest daughter and I am very surprised she sat there allowing me to take the picture. The last picture is significant because her name is the same as the street sign above her. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for stopping by!

  5. Absolutely beautiful! I haven’t been to DC in years, but fondly remember those Cherry Blossom days when I was an intern at the Smithsonian. The blossoms are as beautiful as I remember.

    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  6. I agree, love the rural areas. However mine is all brown brown brown. Spring has yet to show face.
    I love how you post processed your images.

  7. Beautiful pictures! I’m hoping to get into the city ASAP to see the cherry blossoms but the weather last weekend put a damper on my plans… Hopefully they’re still on the trees and not the streets!

  8. Great shots. I haven’t been to DC significantly for since I was a kid 40 years ago. I was there for about 4 hours one night for business and managed to hit the Washington Monument area and reconnect in my mind with the National Mall.

    I especially like your shots of the Jefferson Memorial.

  9. Thank you so much for doing justice to my old home. Now I’m homesick like crazy, but, this is totally worth it. Not that I miss the humidity at all! That you can keep. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • hahha, I can gift wrap the humidity and send it to you with a nice big bow! I don’t want it either :). Though, it isn’t as bad as where I am from, so….

      And you are very welcome. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Reblogged this on stepping my way to bliss and commented:
    I love Cherry Blossoms and have always wanted to go the the Washington DC Festival (the only time I have been in DC it was close to Festival time so I did get to see some blooms–so lovely). This wonderful post contains many gorgeous photos you will enjoy looking through. Second best thing to being there! ~~Mistress Bliss~~

    • Welcome to this area Kati! I am not sure how the Cherry Blossoms look now, the trees may be nothing more than green leaves with the very warm weather we’ve been having and all the rain. But I hope you get to see the awesome kites this weekend at the Washington Monument, I’ll be down there for sure. Safe travels!

  11. Wow, these are Amazing!!! I just took some pics of a tree in front of my apartment complex and got freshly pressed for it…LOL. But you deserve it, I mean, these are Awesome! What camera do you have?

    • Well they must have thought it was worthy of the front page! Congrats to you as well. And thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was pretty surprised to see I was on there. I shoot with the Nikon D7000 when it comes to my DSLR, I also have a Nikon P300 for my point and shoot, and I use my iPhone a lot too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Great shots, we love them! Congrats on being freshly pressed, we’re following you.
    2chicgurls ๐Ÿ™‚
    2chicgurls.com

  13. I thought our cherry blossoms in balmy Vancouver (Canada) came out early, but Washington DC is way ahead of us this year. We were still getting flurries of snow last week, mixed with rain. We have crocuses now, but our cherry blossoms will be at least a couple of weeks. Some of your photographs are exquisite.

  14. Awesome shots! Every one. I made it downtown during the peak bloom for the first time this year and had a great time. You really captured it well.

  15. We don’t have cherry blossoms here along the Gulf of Mexico–so this is a real treat! Thanks for sharing these pictures!

    And on a side note, the U.S. Postal Service is issuing stamps of the D.C. cherry blossoms, in April–I’m really looking forward to buying a few sheets of those!

  16. Amazing! Thank you so much for sharing all of these! Can’t wait to stroll through the rest of your blog. I like the one you tweaked to look like an old postcard, very nicely done.

  17. Truly amazing, I enjoy browsing your photos especially the flowers. Color looks warm and vivid. Great shot! Thank you for sharing with us ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Just beautiful! You have some great images. We are traveling to Japan next week, and hope to capture some cherry blossom pictures too, maybe early ancestor trees to those in DC? Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

  19. I am from London and when we planned to be in DC for the week before Easter in 2011, which was late April that year, I was sure we would miss the famous blossom season, but no, it was at its absolute peak! I have never seen blossom like it, so many different varieties and especially colours I’ve never seen before. Truly unforgettable! Thanks for reminding me.

  20. I was in DC with my family (we’re from London) the week before Easter last year which we were sure would be too late for the blossom season (late April), but no, it was at its peak! Never seen anything like it, so many varieties and even colours that were new to us, and just so much of it. Unforgettable. Thanks for the lovely pictures.

  21. I used to live in DC. Once, I was at the National Conservatory or whatever that plant museum is called – the one beside the Capitol. The sun was setting and for about 5 minutes, from where I was, the Capitol dome was pure pink. It was incredible. I did not realize at the time that the dome is not made of stone. It is painted iron – like the Eiffel tower. So the paint reflecting the light (differently from stone) must have had something to do with it. It was a magic moment – perhaps you can capture it one day on camera. Your photos are beautiful.

  22. Fantastic photos. I lived in DC for a couple of years back in the early 90’s and loved this time of year. Your pictures bring back some wonderful memories, thank you for sharing.

  23. you did a wonderful job catching the magnificence of spring and we got to look thru a child’s eye
    hope to get to DC to see the beauty

  24. I remember when we went down to DC as a family and went to a Photography walk class [I’ve taken one before with the instructor but not during Sakura Masuri] during this. Best memory was another day taking one of those paddle-boats out amiss the trees.
    I think I’m spoiled since I don’t see the point in going to Brooklyn’s Sakura Masuri ever since I’ve been the DC’s

  25. Gorgeous images. I have only been to DC once, but am trying to make my way back there sometime. Thank you for sharing the photos as well. Makes me excited for the spring season. ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. Pingback: Celebrating the Cherry Blossom « Folk Haven

  27. Great photos! I lived in DC for two years, and I miss it a lot. I’m convinced that the city has the most beautiful spring…everything is in bloom. It seems like every tree has flowers. Just lovely.

  28. Wow… breathtaking images Melissa!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Feels like as if I was actually standing next to you when you visited that place. Loved it babe! ๐Ÿ™‚

  29. Beautiful! I too come from a very small town, but now live in Dallas. I love all that a big city has to offer, but I crave the outdoors and getting “out of the city” on a regular basis. And I couldn’t wait to get out of that small town when I was younger! I got the heck out of dodge as fast as I could. I’ve only been to DC once, about 30 years ago. Your photos make me realize that’s WAY too long ago. Hopefully some day I can see those blossoms in person.

  30. So jealous of your fabulous pictures. I always say I’m going to do a sunrise photo shoot, but I have been running the Cherry Blossom 10-Miler in recent years and because I’m totally not a morning person, I can’t see doing two pre-dawn mornings so close together! Maybe next year!

  31. What absolutely gorgeous photo’s and Apple Blossoms are my all time favourite tree, they are just beautiful and when looking at them you get a wonderful sense of peace come over you, well i do anyway. No other trees like them.

  32. Pingback: More Cherry Blossom Fest, 2011-2012 | Festivals | Life of Melissa Ann Marie « Blog orang kaya.

  33. Pingback: Spring Blossoms « The Garden of Simple

Leave a Reply

