Down on Main Street-Part 1

Hello blog land….I sure missed being here. A lot of life changes happened over the last few months which kept me away from blogging, but finally, things have settled down and I am ready to get back at this. I have done some photography while I have been gone, but not enough for my liking.

-I decided to drive to Michigan with my two little girls to go visit family on the 9th of July. My grandmother has Alzheimer’s disease and she is not doing real well, we wanted to head back before she starts to really forget who we are. While I was there, I visited my old town that I grew up in, Watervliet and I was pretty saddened by what I saw. The weakened economy shows on Main street where most of the shops have big for sale signs in the windows. Even the old grocery store is boarded up. Quite sad to see. While my youngest daughter was napping (as having my girls makes any camera time challenging), I took my eldest with me down on Main street to have a look around. Oh, and before anyone freaks, my mom was watching my sleeping girl. 😉 Anyway, I was able to take a few pics while down there. I have more that I have yet to edit, but when I finish I will put that up as well.

I named this “project” Down on Main Street. And yes, Bob Seger. 🙂

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage-Photos were taken with a Nikon D7000 and my 35mm 1.8 lens

-Edited in Photoshop CS5, I was going for an old time feel (aside from the colored ones).

-I sharpened for FB, so they may look a bit off on word press.

Thank you for stopping by!

~Mel

2 thoughts on “Down on Main Street-Part 1

    • Thank you. 🙂 Pic 13 was from a building that has long since gone out of business, though it is one of the alley windows. The only businesses that were open were fairly new ones and 2-3 old ones since I used to live there. But most have closed down.

Leave a Reply

