Turbo Fire Time | Health and Fitness

When I was in my teens and early twenties I could eat 5 Big Macs a day and not gain a single ounce, I didn’t even need to workout. Yah, I would have hated me too. But it was awesome and I never had to worry about my weight at all, I was one of the lucky ones. I was in the military and as I got older and my metabolism slowed I just had to work out a bit to keep those Big Macs off, but still no issue. I was thin, looked great and I thought I looked fat, oh the silly thoughts of our youth. I remember when I got pregnant with my first (before I knew) I was at my heaviest at 130lbs (I’m 5’4) and I was in a crazy fit dieting and working out.

My pregnancy started out fine, I was gaining weight slowly, but my life was anything but real joyous at the time. I was ridiculously stressed at work and I ended up getting Gestational Diabetes which I was unaware about until I was 40 weeks pregnant. I remember thinking something was wrong with my weight gain as it was climbing out of control and I inquired with my doctor several times about my blood sugar levels and was told I was fine. That I was just eating too much. However, there was some truth to that. I worked 12-16 hour days up until a week before I delivered. I was in the Army at the time and I was the only one left in my legal office as the Rear D and was handling not only all of my Brigade’s legal affairs, but working on a murder trial as well, with no help. So I worked a ton, I ate not as healthy as I could because I was in the office from early morning until the sun went down all week long and I was very stressed.

Not to mention I was also almost two weeks late and I was just huge. I gained over 75lbs. I went from my heaviest at 130 to over 200 lbs. I stopped weighing myself at 205, and that was about 2 weeks before I delivered. I ended up having a nice healthy 10.2 lb baby.

Since then my weight was hard to get off. That super fast metabolism I had? Yah she packed up her bags and left me. We have had an estranged relationship since.

After several months of hiding from pictures and disliking how I looked, I started going to the gym every day and went back down to 132 before I became pregnant with my second baby.

With her, life was different and I gained the normal 30lbs. I delivered at 161 and two weeks later I was 143. I started noticing that as the weeks went by I was only going up in weight, and that I weighed more than when I was only two weeks postpartum. Something needed to be done.

So I became active, watched what I ate and started with Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred. After two weeks of following the recommended schedule I started doing two of her workouts back to back. By three weeks I was adding in Leslie Sansone’s walk exercises and I started losing the weight and feeling amazing. I then started using Turbo Fire and Insanity by Beach Body and I got in the best shape of my life. I made a lifestyle change, I didn’t treat it like another “diet.”

I remember stepping on the scale and it read 119lbs, and this was full on muscle. I was LOVING how I looked and more importantly felt. I had so much energy. But then life happened again and I slowly went back to old habits. Going through a divorce, raising two girls and going to school full time got my mind unfocused and since I had reached 119, I decided to relax a bit…..or a lot.

Well, here I am a year later and I am back up to 132. Not heavy by any means, but out of shape, not toned, unhealthy and honestly, I am tired of buying bigger clothes again!

So what all this back story is leading me to tell you is that I am starting Turbo Fire again today. I am giving it my FULL commitment. Even though I did this before, I kind of did it my own way, mixed in Insanity and didn’t follow the program like it stated. Did I still get in shape? Oh yes, but I want to see what happens when I really do this.

I am not a beach body coach, I do not get paid to endorse them, I am a real person and it works. I know a lot of my followers signed on because I am heavily photography based, but I am going to keep up with my progress on here too. I feel that this will help me remain accountable. And that if anyone has been interested in these programs and a review from an average person instead of the hoards of websites and reviews written by people who get paid to sell these programs, then I hope you find something here. (However, with that said, generally those people are pretty spot on with their stories and they became coaches to help others as well, I just suck at sales so….I don’t want to take that on. My plate is full as it is.)

So today was day one of my 90 day program. I realized today how out of shape I am -I about died- but I am glad I made it all the way through. I know that within even 1 week my endurance will be up and I will be able to go harder. I will take my photos tomorrow and I took my measurements today. Cringe. But Day 1 is DONE. So I am one day closer to my goal and I am pretty excited about tomorrow.

If anyone has any questions, I’d be happy to answer them!

I won’t scare anyone by posting before pictures, but I will put this up. See that in the middle? I am hoping to never see that again!

1st Pic is before kids.

2nd Pic is 3 months after baby 1

3rd Pic is this 4th of July 4 yrs after baby 1 and 2 yrs after baby 2 and before Turbo Fire!

Image

 

Turbo Fire Day 1-Fire 30 and Stretch 10

Tomorrow HIIT-15 is on the list. I will probably do something else as well. Stay tuned!

8 thoughts on “Turbo Fire Time | Health and Fitness

      • I’m liking it so far! The time goes by fast and I like that there is a variety of workouts (I get bored of doing the same thing day after day… quickly!) I’m starting week three today. I look forward to following along on your journey. πŸ™‚

      • That’s awesome.. This year I have adopted that attitude myself. I had a slightly different issue as a teen I was 6″2 and 170 and decided to do something about it. So I took up body building and got up to 225 and I was very proud. This year was the first time in 14 years that I cut back going to the gym 4-5 times a week to like once every 2 weeks..

        As you mentioned in your post life throws you curve balls now and then and priorities shift & change and due to that I am down to 205lbs. I was honestly a little depressed about it because I worked so hard to get to 225 but then I thought to myself was it worth it? So this weekend I stated I am going to hit the gym again but this time around for all different reasons. No more eating 7 meals a day or counting how many grams of fat, protein and carbs I am taking in.. No more spending $200 a month at the vitamin shop hoping for some magic supplement to help out.. I am just doing it to be healthy and feel good about myself and to hopefully extend my life just a wee bit.. πŸ™‚ . Thanks for sharing your post!!

  1. I just finished Insanity. I am starting training for a half, but am already thinking about what comes next. i was thinking The Beast (a new BB program for adding muscle) but always wanted to try TurboFire, too. It looks like a P90X and Insanity hybrid… Looking forward to your posts about it!

    • I commented on your blog, congrats on your completion of Insanity! Turbo Fire is kickboxing on speed…..I love it. Chalene is so positive and you don’t want to quit while working out. She always knows when to remind you that, “You aren’t tired!” I plan on keeping track with my results on this blog! Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

