Light at the end of the tunnel | My life

A lot has changed for me in the last year. When I started down the other side of the road I was unclear of where I was going to end up, but I knew that anything was better than where I was. Aside from the two beautiful blessings I had in my life, I felt like I was just existing.

I made some changes, some positive changes in my life and even though it was not an easy road, things were looking up.

In March I was introduced to a man who swept me off my feet and became my best friend. I met a man who was not only wonderful to me in every way, but also to my two little girls. He is kind, compassionate, understanding, loyal, loving, sincere, genuine and down right handsome!

Every day I am more amazed by him, it is the little things that I love the most. This may not seem like much, but it is just another instance where I realized this man is truly perfect for me. I was making a delicious “Just like Heaven” cake for my girls and as I was beating the batter with my little hand mixer in my glass bowl, I see him reach into the drawer and hand me a silicone spatula to scrape the batter on the side of the bowl into the mix. I know that seems silly, but to me it just made my heart smile because he thought enough to do something without me having to ask.  I catch him staring at me with his cute smile while I make dinner, he stops and gets milk on his way home from work, he reads stories to my girls on the couch while I finish my homework, he cuddles with me after a long day. To me it is the little things in life that make everything so perfect.

I honestly never knew someone like him existed, I always thought I was “too picky” because my “list” had some pretty silly things on it. You know, that list of “The Perfect Man.” I never actually used this “list” as many of the things on there were not deal breakers. Aside from things like, loving, affectionate, honest, handsome -like most people put-, I had such things on there as: likes to read, wears baseball caps, drives a truck, is a tee-shirt and jeans type of guy, likes football, and is tall. You know, trivial things like that. Little did I know that on March 4th, I would meet him.

The last few months have been amazing, though we sure don’t have our heads in the clouds. We have both been around the block and know not to get swept up in lust, this is anything like either of us have experienced before. Hasn’t been a long time, but I feel like I have known him my whole life. I have never fully trusted anyone in my entire life, I have never opened up to anyone like I do him and right now, I couldn’t be happier. It is funny, I almost didn’t meet him…but I have a feeling-even though sometimes I have a hard time believing in fate-that I was supposed to meet him. And he came into my life at precisely the right moment, he is definitely the light at the end of my tunnel.

 

Leave a Reply

